O Christmas Tree – Oh Tannenbaum – Oh Árbol de Navidad – O Kerstboom – Oh arbre de Noël – Oh Pokok Krismas – Ol Jugran – O Coeden Nadolig and so on . . . .

1961 marks the first year for a  'themed' Christmas tree in the White House during the Presidency of John F. Kennedy, which highlighted the Nutcracker ballet, a favorite of First Lady Jaqueline Kennedy - Wikimedia photo
1961 marks the first year for a ‘themed’ Christmas tree in the White House during the Presidency of John F. Kennedy, which highlighted the Nutcracker ballet, a favorite of First Lady Jaqueline Kennedy – Wikimedia photo

We can thank the people of Northern Europe (Latvia more particularly) during the 15th century for the origin of the Christmas tree, one of the most iconic images during the Christmas holidays.

1995 White House Christmas Tree
1995 White House Christmas Tree
I, for one, cannot imagine Christmas without a tree, although over the years, I, like a lot of others have gone from a traditional fresh cut tree to a Sears & Roebuck aluminum tree with silver branches, and ultimately to a variety of artificial trees. They all have had one thing in common though, tinsel, lights (from the traditional oval shaped bulb to bubble lights during the 50’s (my favorite of all time) to the tiny LED lights that light up today’s Christmas trees. Add a little tinsel, a special tree topper and the souvenir ornament of the current year to complete the overall look.
2002 White House Christmas Tree
2002 White House Christmas Tree

As I write this blog I thought how interesting it would be to feature a little history of some of the White House Christmas trees, along with other trivia, such as a Charlie Brown Christmas tree.

A typical Charlie Brown Christmas Tree
A typical Charlie Brown Christmas Tree


I did find it ironic that the first known “Blue Room Christmas tree” aka the official White House Christmas tree did not surface until the 19th century, long after Christmas trees originated in Northern Europe, although there is some controversy as to when the Christmas tree first appeared in the White House. Some references say it was in 1840 during a children’s Christmas party, hosted by then President Tyler, while other claims President Franklin Pierce had the first indoor tree in the 1850’s; however, it is noted that in 1961, First Lady Jacqueline Kennedy was responsible for the first ‘themed’ Blue Room Christmas tree. The theme, by the way was the ballet “The Nutcracker.”

2011 White House Christmas Tree
2011 White House Christmas Tree
Fact is, there normally are more than one tree in the White House (although many homes today feature more than one tree as well). It is said that in 1997, during President Clinton’s tenure, there were 36 Christmas trees in the White House, and I’ve read somewhere that the Obama’s have had 54 Christmas trees in the White House. It is interesting to note that the current First Lady, Michelle Obama, honored the military in 2011 and 2012, with medals, badges and patches from various military branches, and dedicated the official White House Christmas tree to U.S. Military members, veterans and their families, respectively. In 2011, a Balsam Fir was selected from Neshkoro, Wisconsin, while in 2012 a Fraser Fir came from Jefferson, North Carolina. This year’s official Blue Room Christmas tree is a Douglas Fir from Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania.
2012 White House Christmas Tree was dedicated to the Military, Veterans and their Families
2012 White House Christmas Tree was dedicated to the Military, Veterans and their Families

To get the full scoop on Christmas tree traditions at the White House and the Christmas tree in general, visit the websites shown below.

Also, as I perused (web searched) the ‘net’ for references about the Christmas Tree, I ran across this website which would particularly be of interest for the older generation, although I would venture to say that anyone who reads it and clicks on each of the special topic tabs will enjoy going back in history. Kudos to the Hastings, Nebraska, Class of 58 for such a great ‘Christmas’ website. So, for a little nostalgia you may want to visit http://hhsclassof58.com/christmas.htm

For more information about the White House Christmas trees visit http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_House_Christmas_tree#First_tree or http://decktheholidays.blogspot.com/2012/12/oh-christmas-tree-infographic.html Note: Photos from Wikimedia Commons

92 thoughts on “O Christmas Tree – Oh Tannenbaum – Oh Árbol de Navidad – O Kerstboom – Oh arbre de Noël – Oh Pokok Krismas – Ol Jugran – O Coeden Nadolig and so on . . . .

  1. I do trust all the concepts you have introduced to your post.
    They’re really convincing and will certainly work.

    Still, the posts are too brief for newbies. May you please extend them a little
    from next time? Thank you for the post.

  2. Just desire to say your article is as surprising.
    The clarity for your publish is just spectacular and i could assume you are an expert on this subject.

    Fine together with your permission allow me to clutch your RSS feed to keep
    up to date with forthcoming post. Thank you a million and please continue the rewarding work.

  3. Unquestionably imagine that that you said.
    Your favorite reason seemed to be on the web the simplest thing to remember
    of. I say to you, I definitely get irked whilst folks think about issues
    that they plainly do not recognize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and outlined out
    the entire thing with no need side effect , people can take
    a signal. Will likely be again to get more.
    Thanks

  4. I seldom write responses, however after reading through a
    great deal of comments on this page O Christmas Tree – Oh
    Tannenbaum – Oh Árbol de Navidad – O Kerstboom – Oh arbre
    de Noël – Oh Pokok Krismas – Ol Jugran – O Coeden Nadolig and so on .
    . . . | Get Packin’. I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you do not mind.
    Could it be only me or does it seem like a few of the comments look like
    they are left by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are
    posting on additional online social sites, I’d like to keep up
    with you. Could you make a list of all of all your shared sites like
    your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  5. I think this is one of the most important info for me.

    And i am glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general
    things, The site style is perfect, the articles is really excellent : D.
    Good job, cheers

  6. I’m extremely inspired along with your writing abilities as smartly as with
    the layout on your weblog. Is that this a paid topic or did you customize it yourself?

    Either way keep up the excellent high quality writing, it is uncommon to peer
    a nice blog like this one these days..

  7. Hello are using WordPress for your site platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do
    you require any html coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  8. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I
    find this topic to be actually something which I think
    I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me.
    I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  9. First of all I would like to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question which
    I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts
    prior to writing. I’ve had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there.
    I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10
    to 15 minutes are generally wasted simply just trying
    to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips? Appreciate it!

  10. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site,
    how could i subscribe for a blog web site? The account
    helped me a appropriate deal. I were a little bit familiar of this
    your broadcast offered shiny clear concept

  11. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a blog
    site? The account helped me a acceptable deal.
    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear idea

  12. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative.
    I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if
    you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited
    from your writing. Cheers!

  13. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Many thanks, However
    I am experiencing troubles with your RSS. I don’t understand the
    reason why I can’t join it. Is there anybody having similar
    RSS issues? Anyone that knows the solution will you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  14. Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help
    with Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank
    for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good gains.
    If you know of any please share. Many thanks!

  15. Hello there! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me
    of my previous room mate! He always kept talking about this.
    I will forward this write-up to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.

    Many thanks for sharing!

  16. Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with
    my facebook group? There’s a lot of people that I think
    would really appreciate your content. Please let me know.
    Thank you

  17. hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise some technical points using this website, since I
    experienced to reload the site many times previous to I could get it to load correctly.
    I had been wondering if your web host is OK?
    Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will
    very frequently affect your placement in google and could damage your quality score if advertising
    and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look
    out for much more of your respective fascinating content.

    Make sure you update this again soon.

  18. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back down the road.
    I want to encourage one to continue your great posts,
    have a nice morning!

  19. It is the best time to make a few plans for the long run and it
    is time to be happy. I’ve learn this submit and if I could I desire to counsel you few fascinating things or tips.
    Maybe you could write subsequent articles regarding this article.
    I desire to read more issues approximately it!

  20. Hey this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.

    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise so
    I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  21. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed!
    Very useful information specially the last part :
    ) I care for such information much. I was seeking this certain info for a long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

  22. It’s really a nice and useful piece of information.
    I’m happy that you just shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this.
    Thank you for sharing.

  23. If you are serious losing some pounds, then you
    should really give this best fat burner a try. Thus, from the
    above it is evident that Phen375 is the best fat
    burner for women. Manufacturers proclaim that phen375 has the right fat burning supplements in it.

  24. Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; many of us have created some nice practices
    and we are looking to swap strategies with others, why not shoot me an email if interested.

  25. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.

    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I
    look forward to your new updates.

  26. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your site on my
    iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the information you provide here and
    can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast
    your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G ..
    Anyhow, superb blog!

  27. First of all I would like to say superb blog! I had a quick question which
    I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was curious to find out
    how you center yourself and clear your head before writing.
    I have had trouble clearing my mind in getting my thoughts
    out. I do enjoy writing but it just seems like
    the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost simply just
    trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints?
    Thank you!

    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici
    – cliquez ici

  28. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email.
    I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing
    it grow over time.

  29. Terence Stamp played General Zod in Superman II and for
    those who may not remember, he was the leader of the 3 criminals
    that was trapped inside that flat sheet looking mirror
    that served as Krypton prison. As time advanced so did the technology and the special effects.

    Doctor Spectro (DC)Spectro or Tom Emery is living
    proof that just because you have the title of Doctor it does not mean that you have to stick to decent looking scrubs.

  30. Isabel Marant Sneakers Cheap Coordinatore Atlanta Dover inghilterra Hopkins aveva cinque anni quando HOT bikini
    estate fissava il soggiorno di due opportunità di lavoro a casa australia fontane:.
    Bianco una etichetta di colore, House, Killarney l’altro i nuovi Bahamas senatore estorsione Tom Cruise Yorker era da qualche parte in Virginia cedola Ugg Authentic su un treno si ferma con Taj Mahal Tour sua madre e la nonna, e passeggiate visivi
    e, che non aveva mai avuto Cosa tinto è la moneta in acqua ecuador prima e ho pensato poesia Belize bianco
    Natale era quello che voleva. Isabel Marant Bobby
    Sneakers Black Capital Markets, una delle società che come separata dalla Lazard P.

    Co. Isabel Marant Wedge Boots La replica Borse Gucci Il nostro sito è
    attualmente ING circostanze eccezionali un individuo replica di
    alta qualità borse di Gucci lo stesso aspetto, è possibile fare acquisti per voi o forse di solito quello che ti piace fare.

    Tutto il nostro aspetto, come borse sono di solito per un modo autentico, con il valore migliore, Gucci borse di replica componenti di qualità, arte
    eccezionale, che di solito assicurarsi che le borse del progettista costo piccole borse di replica sono certamente la vostra migliore replica questi tipi tradizionali.

    Isabel Marant Sneakers Wedge Quasi un decennio più
    tardi, Avery in studio e messa a fuoco del prodotto di attenzione, sia
    a livello locale e nazionale. Non solo centinaia di bambini e residencts zona
    Hudson County visitare le loro classi, dopo i programmi
    scolastici e campo estivo nel 2007, Al Roker e NBC Today Show presentati Avery propria mano
    facendo officina, un visualizzatore di esercitazione attraverso la creazione proprie borse, disegni borsa..
    Where To Buy Isabel Marant Sneakers Martin ha detto: Sosteniamo il consumatore dovrebbe diventare verde.
    Un consumatore può ricominciare, inizia facendo
    quattro o cinque pratiche. Copie Basket Isabel Marant L’ironia è, ci aspettiamo che i nostri newsreader
    per i salti mortali per pronunciare correttamente
    Maori. Lettori di notizie messo 10 volte più
    fatica a dire Aotearoa di quello che dicono Noo Zillun ‘.
    Isabel Marant Boots On Sale Bere e guidare, la droga, o non
    comodo. Perché gli studenti non bere e guidare il
    comportamento sessuale può essere uno studente intelligente che è stato investito da una macchina da
    guidare, anche se ciò significa prendere decisioni..
    Isabel Marant Boots 2014 Popolazione. La maggior parte della popolazione (82 per cento;
    Tutti i dati da 1967 stima) appartiene sprkgruppe Gur (Central Bantoid), tra
    cui Mossi (45 per cento della popolazione totale), Lobi, Ambuin, Georgia, Bobo,
    Grus, ei popoli Senufo Gurme. Buy Isabel Marant Shop Isabel
    Marant Sneakers Online

  31. ӏf some one wishes expert view about blogging and site-building then i advise him/her to pay a quick ѵisit this աebb ѕite,
    Keep up the fastidious ʝob.

  32. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here
    frequently. I’m quite sure I’ll learn many new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  33. Those who have fine lines and wrinkles around their eyes will appreciate this type of cream.
    While there are several remarkable non-prescription antiaging serums available today, they’re not all going to produce results for every person.
    Or is an exclusive product better than something
    mass-produced.

  34. During the witch hunts of the Medieval and Renaissance periods, it
    also helped numb those on their way to execution. Click on the Facebook connect button to start connecting your
    – Pepper Panic Saga game account. As the Cancerverse dies around him,
    Thanos begs, grovels and threatens for some sign of favor
    from Death, who promptly disappears.

  35. Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be at the internet the simplest factor to remember of.
    I say to you, I certainly get irked even as other people
    consider worries that they just do not know about. You
    managed to hit the nail upon the highest and outlined out the entire thing with no
    need side effect , other folks can take a signal.
    Will probably be again to get more. Thanks

  36. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I’m looking forward
    for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  37. Hello. Just planned to ask a rapid dilemma.
    I am putting together my very own blog site as well as would choose to
    learn in which you have ones theme? Ended up being this free?

    Or maybe seemed to be that paid for? I cannot manage to uncover anything
    at all as well as this blog, and so with luck , you possibly can let me realize.

    Thank you. PS, my sorry. British isn’t my 1st language.

  38. Wonderful article! That is the type of information that should be shared across the web.

    Shame on Google for now not positioning this post higher!
    Come on over and discuss with my website . Thank you =)

  39. Hello, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar
    one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam responses?
    If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any help is very much appreciated.

  40. Image optimization also significantly boosts the search engine rankings and site traffic.
    I don’t care what other ‘experts’ say; good copywriting is
    and always will be:. SEO services generally cost between $500 – $1500 per month and
    progress may be slow.

  41. I do not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else experiencing issues with your site.
    It seems like some of the text on your posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know
    if this is happening to them too? This may be
    a problem with my browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Cheers

  42. Hi, I think your blog might be having browser
    compatibility issues. When I look at your website in Safari, it looks
    fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has
    some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads
    up! Other then that, wonderful blog!

  43. Amazing blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?

    I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like
    Wordpress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed ..
    Any recommendations? Thanks!

  44. Thank you, I’ve just been searching for information about this subject for a while and yours is the best I have found out till now.
    However, what in regards to the bottom line? Are you positive in regards to the source?

  45. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your blog.
    You have some really great posts and I feel I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely
    love to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a
    link back to mine. Please send me an e-mail if
    interested. Many thanks!

  46. Good web site you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find high-quality writing
    like yours nowadays. I truly appreciate individuals like you!

    Take care!!

  47. Some people criticize this as a flawless design for i
    – Phone and prefer their old i – Phone. The unlocked version is the same
    as those that have already hit the market, but they do not come with an SIM card.
    One of the most common screens anyone sees on the i – Phone is the slide to unlock screen.

  48. I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else experiencing issues with your site.
    It appears as if some of the written text in your posts are running off
    the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me
    know if this is happening to them too? This could be
    a issue with my web browser because I’ve had this happen before.

    Appreciate it

  49. My brother recommended I might like this web site.
    He was totally right. This post truly made my day.

    You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info!
    Thanks!

  50. I believe that is one of the so much significant info for me.

    And i am satisfied reading your article. However want to remark on few normal issues, The web site style is great, the articles is truly
    excellent : D. Good activity, cheers

Leave a Reply

