Why do we celebrate St. Patrick’s Day?

Who is St. Patrick?  Why do we celebrate St. Patrick’s Day?

Statue at St Patrick Church, Pittburgh, Photo by Joe Marinaro

 Most of us know when St. Patrick’s Day is, March 17th, but how did it become such a celebrated day? St. Patrick is the patron saint of Ireland. He is best known for banishing all the snakes from Ireland. Is this true or false? False, the island nation was never home to any snakes; This was really a metaphor for the eradication of pagan ideology from Ireland and the triumph of Christianity.  March 17th, St. Patrick’s Day,  is his religious feast day and the anniversary of his death in the fifth century. For thousands of years the Irish have observed this day by attending church in the morning and celebrating in the afternoon with dance, drinking and the traditional meal of Irish bacon and cabbage.

The first St. Patrick’s Day parade took place not in Ireland but in the United States, Irish soldiers serving in the English military marched through New York City on March 17, 1762. This helped the Irish soldiers reconnect with their Irish roots and other fellow Irishmen serving in the English army. Over the next 35 years many “Irish Aid” societies were formed, each group would have an annual parade. In 1848 several of the societies decided to unite their parade and form one large parade in New York City.

Today, that parade is the world’s oldest civilian parade and the largest in the United States, with over 150,000 participants. Nearly three million people line the 1.5 mile parade route, in New York City, which takes more than 5 hours. Many other city celebrate the day with parades, such as Boston, Chicago, Philadelphia and Savannah, involving between 10,000 and 20,000 participants. And that is how St. Patrick’s Day became to be such a celebrated day in the United States.

 http://www.history.com/topics/who-was-saint-patrick

22 thoughts on “Why do we celebrate St. Patrick’s Day?

  1. I believe we all claim to be a little Irish when March 17th rolls around. Being green is hip these days – even if one is not a saint!

    Good article Misty.

  2. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  3. I’m extremely inspired with your writing talents as neatly as with the structure in your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to peer a nice blog like this one these days..

  4. No matter if some one searches for his required thing, therefore he/she wishes to be available that in detail, therefore
    that thing is maintained over here.

  5. Excellent blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little
    lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid
    option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally confused .. Any recommendations? Thanks a lot!

  6. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple,
    yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and appearance. I must say you’ve done a excellent job with this.

    Additionally, the blog loads very fast for me on Chrome.
    Superb Blog!

  7. I think that what you said was very logical. But,
    what about this? suppose you wrote a catchier title?
    I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your website, but what if
    you added something that makes people want more? I mean Why do we celebrate St.

    Patricks Day? | Get Packin’ is kinda plain. You might peek at Yahoo’s front page and see how
    they create article headlines to get viewers to
    click. You might add a video or a related pic or two
    to grab readers excited about what you’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it could make your posts a
    little bit more interesting.

  8. Some of the retailers that analysts say they’re watching
    carefully are struggling regional department shop Bon-Ton Stores Inc unknown fafsa
    remember this is where you decide to go once you file your taxes.

  9. Hi there, I found your web site by means of Google while searching for a related
    matter, your site got here up, it appears good.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, simply changed into aware of your blog
    through Google, and found that it is truly informative.
    I am gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if
    you continue this in future. A lot of other people will likely be benefited out of your writing.
    Cheers!

  10. I am not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for fantastic information I was looking for this information for my mission.

  11. No one routes for the evil villan who’s run off with the hero’s beau, same applies to
    a site that’s been stuck in Google’s naughty corner.
    These pre-computed numbers, hold on in a very giant information bank for millions or URLs on the net.
    You need to make your potential customers aware of your products and
    services to ensure that they recognize them as valid
    solutions to their everyday problems.

  12. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both
    educative and amusing, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is an issue that not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy I came across this in my hunt for something concerning this.

  13. I absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to be exactly what I’m
    looking for. can you offer guest writers to write
    content to suit your needs? I wouldn’t mind publishing a post
    or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write with regards to here.
    Again, awesome weblog!

Leave a Reply

